Pregnancy Shoot Advice Needed

RichieRebel Photography is off-line
30 August 2014 03:10
DPHPhotography
Photographer

Hampshire
New Forest / Southampton

Hi all,

A friend of mine has asked me to do a pregnancy shoot with her when she is a bit bigger. I've never done anything like that before and I really want to make sure I get some great pictures for her. I've got a bit of time to practice so that's good, but I was wondering if anyone out there can give me some tips on poses and lighting?

I've had a look around the web and found some nice images to try and replicate, but any advice from someone who has done one of these shoots before would be greatly appreciated!

Rich

redbaron is off-lineSilver Member
30 August 2014 04:01
redbaron
Photographer
redbaron
Buckinghamshire
Stoke Mandeville

I do quite a few of these and that includes 'real' mums not just models. Best time to do them is 4 to six weeks before term, as this is when the bump looks its biggest without too much risk of events catching you out (closest I have had so far is baby arriving 17 hour later!)

First thing is to forget your current lighting setup. It is crap for bumps. You need to have far more directional lighting. Generally I have it at 90 degrees or even slightly behind for the main light. Strip soft-boxes work very well. Give a softness to the change from light to shadow but still plenty of form. Personally I find plain backgrounds work best.

GO on the net and find a selection of images you like and of course feel able to reproduce to show her. This helps give an idea of what sort of style she prefers and also what she is comfortable doing. Getting Dad involved helps to give more range but of course if you are not doing this for the cash that is less of an issue. Try to arrange a female assistant too if you are doing images in lingerie or less. Remember this is not a professional model. I have some shear maternity dresses that helps the more nervous mums feel less exposed.