Guy Models??

58 posts
2 Jan 2013
BrianSelway
Photographer
BrianSelway
barone
I think also...photographers expect quite a high standard when shooting a male model...whereas, you can get away with a greater range of shapes, sizes & types, when it comes to female models...controversial, I know.
Got to agree though. A mle model really needs the face and body..and height to get paid work. But when there's someone like Joel, who has all the necessary, then they're just as capable of a successful career, and making beautiful images as a female model.
Posted 6 Jan 2013
Cody
Model
Cody
while on the subject...can I recommend this model

http://purpleport.com/portfolio/luca/image/210996/model/

Posted 6 Jan 2013
steve0664

im new to shooting male models, personaly find it easy and relaxing, and makes a port more interesting

Especially if they are like the ones in GQ..laugh.

Posted 6 Jan 2013
Edited by SuzyMonty 6 Jan 2013
darrenbrade
Photographer
darrenbrade
BrianSelway
Any photographer who can't shoot a male model without making them look 'gay'..you're either doing it wrong, or so worried about your sexuality being questioned that you're finding a subtext in your images that isn't there in the first place. Unless you're shooting males, but lighting and posing them in the same way you would with a female glamour model..then you're never gonna be happy with the results. IMHO.
So true! There are a separate set of poses for men, too often you see a model posed like female model *cringe*
Posted 6 Jan 2013
darrenbrade
Photographer
darrenbrade
steve0664
im new to shooting male models, personaly find it easy and relaxing, and makes a port more interesting
I'm can relate to this, I've come from a background of shooting mainly men and to even out my portfolio started shooting women. www.darrenbrade.com
Posted 6 Jan 2013
skymouse
Photographer
skymouse
I've thought about this before, and if I were photographing people for art I'd mostly prefer men.

But, like many, I'm not.