Copyright date

11 posts
21 July 2018
Thunder_Photos
Photographer
Thunder_Photos

I have thousands of archive photos going back many years. Sometimes I go into them and find interesting photos I've never used before.

When I post photos to Purestorm I add my copyright date. Until recently this was the year taken but it struck me that they had never been published before so I now add the current date.

Does anyone know in fact which date is correct? Taken or first published (the same actually applies to photos I've used before but have re-edited)

Posted 21 July 2018
ChrisD
Photographer
ChrisD

@Thunder_Photos : Copyright exists from the moment the image is created, if you take a photo on the 21st of July 2008 the copyright comes into existence then. If you do not publish the photo until the 21st of July 2018, that is the date of publication, not copyright. Your copyright of that image has been in existence for ten years.

Posted 21 July 2018
Thunder_Photos
Photographer
Thunder_Photos
ChrisD

@Thunder_Photos : Copyright exists from the moment the image is created, if you take a photo on the 21st of July 2008 the copyright comes into existence then. If you do not publish the photo until the 21st of July 2018, that is the date of publication, not copyright. Your copyright of that image has been in existence for ten years.

I hear what you day and generally agree with you however, for example I have put some head and shoulders photos on here which are actually part of much larger older photos so I have created new photos.

Posted 21 July 2018
Bob
Photographer
Bob
Thunder_Photos

I have put some head and shoulders photos on here which are actually part of much larger older photos so I have created new photos.

The copyright date of each photograph is the date the photo is created.