....amateur classification should not mean amateur attitude...

....amateur classification should not mean amateur attitude...

20 posts
19 June 2015
rondisneyphotography
Photographer
rondisneypho..
....amateur classification should not mean amateur attitude, reliability and failure to respond to messages left...

as a pro-photographer i am amazed at the increasing number of models who whilst being classed as amateur presumably because they model as an interest and do not rely on modelling as an income to live on think its perfectly normal not to reply to messages left after responding to an ad for models to do published ,top paid work....am i the only tog on here who thinks pure storm is becoming a waste of time....and p.s. seriously needs to sort these people out....
Posted 19 June 2015
Edited by Love 20 June 2015
mrdl
Photographer
mrdl
I am an amateur, and if a model doesn't reply to a message, I work on the "no reply = no thanks" theory.

Posted 19 June 2015
Alan_Jay
Photographer
Alan_Jay
This topic is a frequent visitor
I understand the frustration of not receiving replies,  for models as well as photographers.
It is odd I feel,  that we get so fixated on this on internet forums.  I frequently receive letters from companies seeking to do business with me,  yet no-one bats an eylid if I don't reply to them.
Why do we feel that someone messaged on an internet site, is somehow obliged to respond to us?
If you look at it from a detached and dispassionate perspective,  sending a message to someone is simply an invitation to communicate. A response from them is an acceptance of that offer and no response is simply declining the offer.  There really is nothing more sinister or unprofessional than that.

If one considers that some models receive hundreds of messsages a day,  do we really expect them to spend time replying to ALL of them?  Is it not reasonable to expect that they have better things to do with their time?