Studio Work/Jobs

7 posts
14 Aug 2014
Snipet
Photographer
Snipet
Ive been doing photography as a hobby for quite a few years now, and have really gotten into model photography over the last 2-3 years.

I currently work in retail but want to start in something photography related. Ideally working in a studio in some which, way or form.

Does anyone have any advice on what i should really be doing to make this happen, and the best place to find open positions I can apply for?

Look forward to any and all replies and help.

Gareth

Posted 14 Aug 2014
Catuaba
Photographer
Catuaba
My opinion only but.
It's unlikely in this current climate you will find a studio work job with a decent wage depending on where your based. Opening your own studio will kill you on rent and rates and unless your doing adult stuff you probably wont make much money in the modelling side. If any. Best bet is probably a very busy high street position with low rent and rates and doing family snap stuff during peak season. Or go mobile or home studio and do it that way. It's a competitive world when it comes to photography. The ones making money did it a different way with unique ideas.

Posted 14 Aug 2014
Snipet
Photographer
Snipet
Im in Portsmouth, and in all honesty im on pretty much a minimum wage in my current job so cant get much lower in wages.
Did think it was going to be very very hard to get any type of work like I want to do.
I have invested in a mobile studio set-up, so I have lights, backdrops etc. so I can do home visit work.
Was just hoping to get some work in an actual studio aswell.

Ah well, I can only keep looking and keep my fingers crossed something might come up.

Posted 14 Aug 2014
Keltica
Photographer
Keltica
I like the Cruise ship jobs link, guys with cameras you pop rolls of plastic in the back, and Multiblitz lighting, so 70's....