Renting

27 posts
9 May 2014
kayliem
Model
kayliem
Hi everyone ive been renting for 3 yrs now while im saving for a deposit to buy a house. Does anyone else who's living in rented accommodation feel down about it? I'll explain why I do sometimes. No matter how at home I feel, or make it homely I seem to always be aware its not my actual home. I get mail nearly every day through my door for past tenants. Ive had people knock at my door looking for past tenants. My landlord wont let me do anything In the flat, I have inspections every six months and the letting agent always complains about something and sends me rude letters. Eg. complaining my washing machine wasn't clean enough (even though its my machine not supplied with the flat) Please say its not just me who gets down about renting? kaylie
Posted 9 May 2014
Edited by kayliem 9 May 2014
w4pictures
Photographer
w4pictures
Cheer up! If you're really down about it, maybe look to rent somewhere less oppressive. There must be rentable places where you can genuinely feel at home.

Its a wonderful feeling when you buy your own nest. But don't think owning is some shangri-la. Once the euphoria has worn off, it comes with its own problems and a host of expenses.

How about a small bar of very good chocolate and a quick trawl through zoopla?

Posted 9 May 2014
kayliem
Model
kayliem
This is my second flat so wont move again until I buy now. I know a lot of people are in the same boat as me. Just waiting and saving. Most of time im very cheerfull

Yes choccie does help!

Posted 9 May 2014
jpv
Photographer
jpv
It's a "mind-set" thing and to feel differently you must re think your position. I have many friends in Europe who have never thought about buying their main home as in Paris, Brussels and Berlin you rent year after year after year. They still think of it as home. It's also interesting that several of them own "holiday homes". The location of these varies from Florida, to around the "Med" but also in London.