What do I set my fee at as a beginner?

What do I set my fee at as a beginner?

35 posts
30 Oct 2013
Gussy05
Model
Gussy05
I am just starting out and I have had a few people ask what I charge per hour. As I have never charged anyone before I have no idea what the going rate is. Any advice please?

Posted 30 Oct 2013
PaulManuell
Photographer
PaulManuell
Gussy05
I am just starting out and I have had a few people ask what I charge per hour. As I have never charged anyone before I have no idea what the going rate is. Any advice please?
In theory, I'd say you can charge however much you want. But to get a more specific idea, maybe look at a few models' profiles on here by going in the search section and clicking the 'Paid work only' option. But I should imagine that, as you're a brand new model, you're not likely to get many offers of paid shoots tbh. Of course, that's not to say you shouldn't at least try. Hope that's helpful.
Posted 30 Oct 2013
Nash
Photographer
Nash
Hi Gussy,
I think the advice I would give, (based on experience) is don't set your rates too low! Some typical rates are: £20 - £25 per hour up to lingerie, around £30 topless, then minimum £40 nude. Also remember to include travelling costs (train, coach, petrol...). These would be for basic modelling work. I do a lot of amateur sploshing shoots (see my profile), which is usually to topless/lingerie (thong/stocking), not nude, but requires time to shower and change between sessions. I normally pay £50/hour for this type of mild fetish work. HOWEVER: some rates can vary quite a lot depending on whether the shoot is private, or if the models sign a release form for the photos/video to be sold on commercially. I'm alwats happy to give the model a full set of copies of everything taken during a shoot for their profiles. Hope this is of some use.
Best wishes and good luck!
Chris

Posted 30 Oct 2013
Gussy05
Model
Gussy05