Photographer's Age

Photographer's Age

28 posts
25 July 2013
JamieCraigPhoto
Photographer
JamieCraigPhoto
I'm 21.

I'm a professional photographer, I make a good income yet my age seems to make me seem less professional?

Some think I'm just a student, others think I can't be any good, other's think I may just be a GWC.

I mainly shoot fashion and fine art, I also assist in the teaching of photographic make up. I do many printed glamour shoots and almost every model says, "but you're not 50?!"

Are most glamour photographers 50?!

Posted 25 July 2013
LadylikeMedia
Photographer
LadylikeMedia
I'm 26 and have been doing it for 5 years...

Posted 25 July 2013
Webbo2
Photographer
Webbo2
I'm a young photographer, and whilst I have had the odd comment about my age I just get on with it and let my photos do the talking, and very often use it as a topic of light banter during a shoot. I feel like the fact that I am a similar age as some models can be an advantage as far as relating to them, eg finding that we were at the same college at the same time but didn't know each other back then etc. just go with it.

Posted 25 July 2013
PaulManuell
Photographer
PaulManuell
JamieCraigPhoto
I'm 21....... and almost every model says, "but you're not 50?!"
I'm 50 and no model ever says to me, "But you're only 21!"
Posted 25 July 2013
gerryquiff
Photographer
gerryquiff
A young model said of me to her mid 50's Dad. "He's old, but not as old as you" I'm 48 but look months younger
Posted 25 July 2013
Socialdisaster
Photographer
Socialdisaster
To be quite honest, I very rarely see a photographer on these sites who is under 30 and any good. Ladylikemedia is one of those rare ones.

Like many careers, the fact is that the older you get, very often the better you get.

Posted 25 July 2013
SMILESPHOTO
Photographer
SMILESPHOTO