New DSLR - Advice Needed

New DSLR - Advice Needed

38 posts
17 June 2013
VinceM
Photographer
VinceM
Here's the deal. I'm an amateur tog. I'm not the most experienced. Mainly interested in portrature, the erotic and the nude. No real desire for a camera that can give tell me where I am or indeed one that will do an amazing job in making video.

My last camera was a Canon 40D which was stolen. Before this I had a Canon 350D.

I now find myself in the position to be able to replace my stolen camera. I'm also in the fortunate position to have some extra funds (Big sales bonus this month after working my arse off since Jan)

I don't have any existing lenses (both stolen) so I'm not tied to a particular camera make or even cropped sensor.

My budget is £1500. I'm not stupid in thinking that a better camera will make a better photographer. But I'd like to get a quality piece of kit.

So.... what would you recommend? Do I go secondhand or new? Full frame or Crop? Canon or Nikon? Do I just get a cheaper body and invest in glass?

I'm currently consiering the 7D (despite rumours it will be replaced soon), but I like the D7100 too. But then I'm tempted to look at a budget full frame like the 6D or D600... but then do I really need any of these?

Would a 60D be a better option? or the new 700D for instance? and perhaps just invest in better glass.

Ideally would like to go with prime lenses. A 50mm and an 85mm perhaps. Just think it would suit my way of working.

Any and all advice would be massively appreciated. I really do feel like I'm going around in circles....

Posted 17 June 2013
magpie1
Photographer
magpie1