Reminder Secure

Ventured the other side of the lens!

25 June 2015 19:45
EmmWoodPhotography
Photographer

I was wondering if perhaps I could have some feedback on my current port? I'm just starting out in people photography (I shoot horses, weddings, school groups & sports events when I'm not booked for modelling jobs) and looking for a bit of direction of what works and what I could improve on please? Who knew the studio would be a scary place for a novice!? Constructive criticism would be gratefully appreciated, I need a little direction for my next shoots to help me get better. Obviously I plan to work with more people to make it more diverse, but as of yet not had many shoots.

Thanks in advance!

Profile Pictures is off-line
26 June 2015 04:59
profilepictures
Photographer
profilepictures
Suffolk
Bury St Edmunds

Your portfolio, set in context of what you say about yourself, feels like you're at the 'fake it 'til you make it stage' perhaps. Right now its pretty uninspired in terms of pose, composition and processing. There's no hint of a feminine iinsight in the type or style of shots, looking like a hundred other dull old men's pictures right now.

One of the primary benefits of being a model and photographer is that collaborations should be proportionately much easier to arrange and right there is my hint as to what you should do next.

The pictures of Anita db are kinda OK, but right there you have one of the most interesting models on the scene and even those are pretty uninspired. Some of the others are outright dull looking. Where's the feminine insight, where's the story telling or the high impact shots? It all feels very undercooked and hardly what I'd expect from a full time freelancer with tewo leading companies as clients.

Of you shoot lots of ewuine and weddings, where are the POW pictures from there even (assuming you don't do model photography all that well) both circumstances give great energy and narrative. I'm left confused.