How do you get paid?

This thread is being watched by 2 people
Paul Hutchinson is off-line
16 February 2014 11:45
Paulhutchphotos
Photographer

Lincolnshire

Hi,

I'm an amateur/semi pro who is looking at moving over to model photography. I am amateur in the sense I have done very little with models, but semi pro in the sense I have been doing paid jobs for a few years now at combat sports events, weddings, etc.
Just recently I've been arranging TFP/CD days with MUAs, Models and photographers all coming along to learn and build individual portfolios. However I now want/need to start getting paid even if just to cover my costs and equipment, but everything seems to be aimed towards models getting paid and photographers paying out.

Kevin Wilson is off-line
16 February 2014 11:52
kerandastudio2
Studio
kerandastudio2
Norfolk
Kings Lynn

" How do you get paid" ?

Simple , you pay the model then find someone to pay you for the work.

Much the same as any other business , you buy materiasls from a wholesaler then charge a customer to install the materials.

Chrissie Red is off-line
16 February 2014 12:13
Chrissie_Red
Model
Chrissie_Red
Tayside
Perthshire

Honestly though there are so many people trying to make a living out of photography that you would need to have a Chrissie_Red is a naughty person load of luck and a leprechaun living under your bed if you aspire to make money out of model photography.

I would stick to the weddings and build up a good reputation in that field if its something you enjoy.

16 February 2014 12:33
Paulhutchphotos
Photographer

Lincolnshire

Excuse me being naive but who would just buy photos of random models? Surely if a model wants to be a model she should pay the photographer to take photos? You say it's much the same as any other business but you don't go to the wholesalers produce and pack the goods and ship them to yourself, then try and find someone who wants them.
I appreciate the advice thanks

HowardJ is off-line