Reminder Secure

Photographer's Age

Jamie Craig is off-lineSilver Member
25 July 2013 09:11
JamieCraigPhoto
Photographer

Kent

I'm 21.

I'm a professional photographer, I make a good income yet my age seems to make me seem less professional?

Some think I'm just a student, others think I can't be any good, other's think I may just be a GWC.

I mainly shoot fashion and fine art, I also assist in the teaching of photographic make up. I do many printed glamour shoots and almost every model says, "but you're not 50?!"

Are most glamour photographers 50?!

Megan Reynolds is off-line
25 July 2013 09:30
LadylikeMedia
Photographer
LadylikeMedia
Bristol
Bristol

I'm 26 and have been doing it for 5 years...

25 July 2013 09:37
Webbo2
Photographer

I'm a young photographer, and whilst I have had the odd comment about my age I just get on with it and let my photos do the talking, and very often use it as a topic of light banter during a shoot. I feel like the fact that I am a similar age as some models can be an advantage as far as relating to them, eg finding that we were at the same college at the same time but didn't know each other back then etc. just go with it.
EYUP!

25 July 2013 09:39
PaulManuell
Photographer

Quote from JamieCraigPhoto
I'm 21....... and almost every model says, "but you're not 50?!"

I'm 50 and no model ever says to me, "But you're only 21!"

gerryquiff is off-lineSilver Member
25 July 2013 15:04
gerryquiff
Photographer
gerryquiff
Lanarkshire
Bonnie Scotland

A young model said of me to her mid 50's Dad.

"He's old, but not as old as you" I'm 48 but look months younger
CAT WANTED. Must be large enough to make Davy Crockett hat. (6 7/8) Prefer ginger

25 July 2013 15:08
Socialdisaster
Photographer

To be quite honest, I very rarely see a photographer on these sites who is under 30 and any good. Ladylikemedia is one of those rare ones.

Like many careers, the fact is that the older you get, very often the better you get.