Andrew Gibbins is off-line
01 May 2013 02:35
andrew_gibbins
Photographer
andrew_gibbins
South Yorkshire
Sheffield

Hello.

Don't know if this is a tightly held secret among photographers here, but I would like to get some inputs on how to proceed in selling images. How do you approach magazines or websites, what do you say, etc. I want to learn so I can also perhaps have an income in the future from my images. I am very new to all this, so some guidance is requested

KHV is off-line
01 May 2013 03:00
Keltica
Photographer
Keltica
London
London

It's not a secret but others who have asked are usually given the stock answers, email people but a lot of us got out of providing content for websites years ago, as the easter Europeans/Russians were doing it with vastly superior models (this is the adult content market), and we could not compete, and only being able to shoot the odd set here and there.

There are plenty of info out there, you just have to pick your market and do some research, and of course have the money to create the content before you can flog it but IMHO that horse died and was in pies years ago.

Peter is off-line
01 May 2013 07:17
peterbuchanphoto
Photographer
peterbuchanphoto
West Yorkshire
Leeds

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Freelance-Photographers-Market-Handbook-2013/dp/090729765X
Lists a load of publishers, what they want, what price they may pay and the contact details of the photo editors desk.
Mostly what they will pay is a smack in the face (£50 or less for most front covers). In the end I didnt bother but the information is all there if you want to give it a try.

I was going to look to the nature mags and take pictures while on family days out since I would already be there and dont have the added cost of travel to factor in. Even then these magazines pay so little its not worth the hours taking, working on and trying to submit these pictures.. better off spending the same amount of time working for min wage.